PROJECT I. Inmate art from the interbellum period

Overseas prisoncamp
  © Art Without Bars


Shutter 1: A publication of drawings from the interbellum period under the title Fatalitas!

Inmate art - a recent term in the west – is art that has been made by people who have been placed in solitary confinement because of criminal activity. After his death on 24 January 1960, Doctor Jean Lacassagne, a champion of this specific art branch, almost fell into oblivion. He was born in Lyon (1886) as son of the famous law doctor Alexandre Lacassagne, who introduced as a dermatologist, the tattoo as a subject of study. Inspired by the sick-calls with his father to the hospitals and penitentiaries of his birth city, Jean published (later as a dermatologist) largely concerning this subject. After his fathers death, Jean even inherited a photograph file decorated with tattoos, and even a service decorated with tattoos.

He had been inspired with compassion and advised his inmate patients to continue with writing and drawing as an outlet for their despair. In 2007, a manuscript of a man called Migron with M. as a initial, was connected in the files of Lyon with drawings by the same hand, which turned up on the art market. Some drawings literally illustrated the text.

The recurrent criminal acts of M. Migron, illustrated by himself, form the red wire through this book. We have chosen work of several artists to illustrate the tale of Migron. This bilingual publication (N/FR) will be published in May 2008 under the title:

Fatalitas! Van sletten, flikken en brommers... Putes, poulets, prisonniers racontent...

Information and orders: artwithoutbars@skynet.be

Content : 35 p. text and 43 p. with illustrations full page and full colour.
Price : 14 € + 5€ mailing costs (Belgium) or + 8,5 € ( Europe)
Payment on account 734-0147522-91 IBAN:BE23 7340 1475 2291 BIC: KREDBEBB.

Order form:
Order form fatalitas

Shutter 2: Exhibition FATALITAS! Drawings from inmates of the interbellum period

In association with the museum Dr. Guislain in Ghent in 2010, an exhibition of French inmate Art has taken place where doctor Jean Lacassagnes life’s work will be at the centre.

This show was devoted to the misunderstood talent of Jean Lacassagne of Lyon, a doctor who worried about the health of inmates and prostitutes. The main accent was on the collection of inmate art of the dermatologue who was an art therapist avant la lettre.

When? May 22 September 12 2010
Where? Dr. Guislain Museum Ghent , Dr. Guislainstraat 43 in Ghent

PROJET I. Inmate art de l’entre-deux-guerres

Overseas prisoncamp
  © Art Without Bars


1er volet : une publication de dessins de l’entre-deux-guerres sous le titre Fatalitas!

Inmate art – un terme récent à l’Ouest – est l’art de personnes qui sont incarcérés pour cause de faits criminels. Après sa mort le 24 janvier 1960, Jean Lacassagne, un des plus grands défenseurs de cette activité artistique, est quasiment tombé dans l’oubli. Né à Lyon, il était le fils du célèbre médecin légiste Alexandre Lacassagne qui étant également dermatologue avait choisi le tatouage comme sujet d’étude. Inspiré par les visites aux malades en prison et dans les maisons closes de sa ville natale, où il accompagnait son père, Jean publiera en tant que dermatologue largement sur le sujet. Après la mort de son père, Jean hérita des archives de photos de personnes tatouées et même d’un service de table décoré avec des motifs de tatouage.

Encore plus que son père, Jean était habité par la compassion et conseillait à ses patients internés de trouver une issue à leur désespoir par le dessin et l’écriture. En 2007, un manuscrit d’un certain Migron M. provenant des archives lyonnaises fut comparé et mis en relation avec un ensemble de dessins, tous dessinés de la même main, qui venaient de surgir sur le marché de l’art. Certains de ces dessins illustraient très précisément le texte.

Les récidives de M. Migron, racontées et illustrées par lui-même, forment le fil rouge de ce livre mais nous avons également choisi des travaux de différents autres artistes pour illustrer l’histoire de Migron. Cette publication bilingue (NL/FR) porte le titre:

Fatalitas! Van sletten, flikken en brommers... Putes, poulets, prisonniers racontent...

Infos et commandes: artwithoutbars@skynet.be

Contenu: 43 pages avec illustrations sur pages complètes en quadrichromie et 35 pages de texte.
Prix : 14 € + 5€ de frais de port pour la Belgique (8.5€ frais de port pour l’Europe)
la somme est à verser sur le compte 734-0147522-91.

Bulletin de souscription:
Bulletin de souscription Fatalitas

Volet 2 : Exposition Fatalitas ! Dessins de détenus de l’ entre deux guerres

Elle fut consacrée à la personnalité méconnue de Jean Lacassagne de Lyon, un médecin qui se souciait de la santé des détenus et des prostituées. L’accent fut mis avant tout sur la collection d’inmate art du dermatologue, qui était thérapeute d’art avant la lettre.

Quand? 22 mai - 12 septembre 2010
Où? Dr. Guislain Museum situé Dr. Guislainstr. 43 à Gand